SHODAN Windows Startup

*NOTE: The video above was just taken with my smartphone; I am not going to bring out my DSLR just to record a short video like this…*

Most people should know by now that I am a huge System Shock fan. I love both games, but the first game has shown its age gameplay and graphics wise. However, like in my previous post, the good guys at Night Dive Studios released an enhanced edition of the first game, aptly named, System Shock Enhanced Edition, available in GOG.com. I am waiting for the Steam version since that is  where I have a digital copy of the second game.

With that said, when I set out to replace my previous Q6600 build with my current i7 3770 build, I wanted to name my new build “SHODAN”; yes, I name all my PC builds.

It was a homage to my favorite game and I knew that this current build will become a greater beast than the build prior to it. So, I wanted to give it a name that can encapsulate that vision. And SHODAN was certainly it.

Without spoiling too much for those who have yet to play the games, Sentient Hyper-Optimized Data Access Network, or SHODAN for short, is the main antagonist of the series; an artificial intelligence gone rogue. That’s it. I won’t say anymore than that.

But I knew, naming it SHODAN wasn’t enough… I wanted to add in an audioclip for start up with her voice, however, since Windows 8 (I run Windows 8.1), there have been no startup fanfares for “security” reasons. And it took me this long to make this because, a) I was lazy to type scripts/codes and then trouble shoot it to run the way I want to and b) I just wasn’t inspired enough to do so.

With the release of the enhanced edition, that gave me much needed high and pushed me to finally make a simple script/code to make it run the way I envisioned it.

Sure it may really only be an 8 second script, but it took me over 4 hours just troubleshooting and editing to make it run the way you see in the video now.

I don’t always code for simple programs, plus it was never my major, as my career path is that of the medical field, so it is understandable that I make a lot of mistakes typing codes and warrants the long number of hours to troubleshoot and edit.

But in the end, for me, it was worth it.

It may only be 8 seconds and only seen during startup (unless I make it run again), something like this, as simple as this, makes me happy. And how I made it, without any real lectures in coding (I just read a ton of books before when I was younger and experimenting), makes it all the more special.

Anyways, that’s it for now…

PEACE!

UPDATE:

I have updated my script to have bluescreens of death and graphical error screens alongside SHODAN.

Check the video below!

Follow me here or on the following sites!

Follow me on Twitter!

Follow me on Flickr!

I’m also at Facebook!

Perhaps Google+!

Do you game? Add me on Steam!

Leave a Reply

