Grim Fandango Remastered

I played most of the LucasArts Adventure games when I was younger, and they still hold a special place in my heart, but I have since lost the discs or they no longer work, etc.

I always said I will recollect them digitally one day, both in Steam and GOG, and thankfully it starts today.

When Grim Fandago Remastered was first released earlier this year, I wanted to buy it, but I always had a rule when it comes to spending games full priced. The only time I will pay full price for a game is when I have been waiting for it for a long time, always have wanted it, or if I know the game is downright amazing, and are brand new.

Examples are: Wasteland 2, Pillars of Eternity and its expansion, Wolfenstein: Old Blood. These were brand new (at the time), were something I was waiting for, something I really WANTED, and I knew they were good (Pillars, I took a gamble and preordered it). Otherwise I will wait for a sale… I am that patient… Thanks to my work/studies. Grand Theft Auto V and Metal Gear Solid 5 can wait… they aren’t something that I really want even if they are ground breaking.

That is not to say that this is not downright amazing; but technically it isn’t all that new, nor did I REALLY want to have it. Thus, I waited for a sale, and voila, at 66% at Steam as of this writing, it is worth the wait. Like love…

Like my previous post about Another World 20th Anniversary, this is not going to be a review of the game, it is simply a tribute or less, for the game.

This was when the adventure games were at the pinnacle and there was no hand holding. You can enter a room, faced with a puzzle, not knowing what to do next. Then when you find out how to solve the puzzle, you feel the sense of accomplishment. I feel that is what is lacking in the newer games… the challenges in puzzles. They take our intelligence for granted.

The humor in this game, much like every other LucasArts Adventure game at the time is topnotch! And surely, it has been years since I played it, and currently installing it right now, I am to find out if those jokes will still get to me today. I am sure it will.

Of note, I was reading around that like in Another World 20th Anniversary, you are able to switch from the modern graphics or the classic graphics. Fun to see how they improved the game especially with their dynamic lighting and all. But sadly, if you will play this in 1920×1080, I was told it stretches the image to fulfill the 16:9 aspect ratio… If this bothers you, like it will with me, you can play in the native 4:3 aspect ration, but like Another World again, there will be black bars on the sides.

This will never deter you from the actually story and gameplay. So, if you are the nostalgic type like me, or you want to try this out for the first time, rest assure, first timers, your money will be well spent. And at 66% off, you can’t go wrong! GO!

I am happy that Double Fine decided to remaster this, though it also comes to no surprise seeing as Tim Schafer was the designer of this game anyways back in the original release. So much care was still put into this. And I am glad.

With that, I am currently installing this bad boy, and will surely have a trip down memory lane once again when the game is installed.

To think, first it was Another World 20th Anniversary Edition that was on sale, now this! Perfect time to be a classic gamer…

PEACE!

Let the download… BEGIN!

Follow me here or on the following sites!

Follow me on Twitter!

Follow me on Flickr!

I’m also at Facebook!

Perhaps Google+!

Do you game? Add me on Steam!

Leave a Reply

