Yet Another PC Upgrade

The die has been cast; Triple monitor setup here I come!

Not too long ago, I showed that I upgraded to an AMD R9 390 from my previous Nvidia GTX 660Ti, and now I am on the brink of upgrading again… This time getting a long awaited 3rd monitor.

It felt like just 3 weeks ago when I upgraded my GPU… oh wait… it has been just 3 weeks

This PC is a labor of love for the past 3 years. I mean, before this PC I had a Q6600 build and it was also a labor of love in its own right, but this i7 3770 build, well, think of the Winchester House, it just keeps on getting bigger. Oh and by the way, there is a PCPartPicker link at the end of this post for my complete specs.

My Q6600 wasn’t really built for aesthetics or for media editing. It was just built for gaming.

Now most people will be alright with that, but my hobbies have increased in number and to name a few, I am into videography, photography, and music editing (since I play the guitar and all), so I needed a new build that is strong enough for my needs, and aesthetically pleasing.

This has been 3 years in the making in that, I didn’t buy all the parts simultaneously… I bought what was necessary at the time, them get parts when I absolutely needed them, and to where we are now.

I spent a lot on this system, and I won’t stop… This is the fruit of all my labor, and a testament for all the years I have been a PC builder. Building PC’s for other people that I wished I had, not I can say I do have.

Once I get the 3rd monitor, I will save up for one more upgrade before I go to Manila for my board exam review; I need to get another pair of 4gb RAM from G.Skill and their Sniper series.

Here is a short chronology of the evolution of my baby named SHODAN:

Circa 2012: I didn’t have a good mouse, keyboard, or a GPU yet in this phase.
Circa 2013: Upgrades at this point, if I remember correctly, were the Ducky DK9008 Shine II Cherry MX Blue Mechanical Keyboard and the Nvidia GTX 660Ti; I also added an SSD, a card reader and custom extension cables for me PSU. And finally a NAS (on the right of the PC itself).
Circa 2014: Replaced my old monitors with two new Dell 23″ S2340L IPS Monitors. I also got me a Razer DeathAdder 2013 at this point; since there were no such thing as DeathAdder Chroma back then, I modded the mouse myself to have a Blue LED to match my system’s theme.
July 2015: No real upgrades other than the AMD Radeon R9 390… I have since added another HDMI cable as well as a DVI to HDMI adapter to make way for a 3rd Dell 23″ S2340L IPS Monitor this weekend.

Click Here to see how much I spent in the three year evolution of this PC as well as my complete specs of SHODAN

Leave a Reply

