Can this year for PC gaming get any better?

Can this year for PC gaming get any better?
Let us start earlier this year when Cities: Skyline came out; a great city builder the likes of me, a Sim City fan, deserves after the disappointments EA has been releasing as of late. The city builder games I probably spent the same amount of time in as Cities were Sim City 3000 and Sim City 4. And just like previous Sim Cities, the traffic can be bothersome; what do you expect from the creators of Cities in Motion, but thankfully, the traffic isn’t as complex as it is in Cities in Motion, but you can still see you city not booming because of it. There is also lack of calamities and such, but heck, you already have a lot to worry about in this game, and that is not to shy you away from the game, it is to challenge you to play one of the more in depth city builders of late.
Next, you have the love-letter, the homage to classic RPGs, particularly the Infinity Engine games, Pillars of Eternity (I have been so addicted to this since it’s release last March, I will write a review for this fantastic game when I have more time.); I have waited for this game since its announcement in Kickstarter last 2012, and I was nearly floored that not even a year after its release, they have an expansion called The White March is slated to be released also within the year… or at least a “part” of it. The Infinity Engine games are what converted me from a console gamer to a PC master race gamer; it was 1998, when I first played Baldur’s Gate, and since then, I have measured every RPG with that series. Then the lack of RPG of the same caliber… years and years of lackluster RPG, apart from The Elder Scrolls, Fallout, Star Wars Knight of the Old Republic, and Dragon Age Origins. But even so, I longed for a classic RPG with true Dungeons and Dragons feel to it. Then March of this year, my heroes at Obsidian gifted me this… and you should play it too if you’re an RPG fan.
Torment, another one of my all time favorite classic RPG will also have a new title in the series this December. Or so I hope they won’t delay, but then again, if it will make the game even better, then delay away! Though not too long… Planescape Torment, another dear Infinity Engine game, even beat out my favorite Baldur’s Gate series in story. It is a masterpiece of videogame writing. A writing that not even books or movies can beat. It was… and still is… the most emotionally gripping games I have ever played. A new Torment would have to be at par or better, and I trust the guys at inXile Entertainment, with no less than Brian Fargo at the helm, that released Wasteland 2 last year (and it was a blast to play!). They also recently had a successful Kickstarter for Bard’s Tale IV, but I think that comes out next year or so…
As if those to games wouldn’t keep me busy, Grand Theft Auto V is released, though I am yet to own this in Steam (Running short on cash lately… ugh); but I will surely get this within the year, especially once I upgrade my GTX 660ti to a new card.
Then E3 came and gone, and left us gamers drooling over more games that are coming out this year, starting with Fallout 4; I have all the canon Fallout games, and sure I was surprised at first by the FPS direction Bethesda took with Fallout 3 instead of the classic Isometric, and it became real time, instead of turn based, but Bethesda, being the ethereal developers as they are, still crafted a great RPG in spite of my fears.
Doom, fresh from my revisiting of Doom I and II using my Zenfone 2 (I will have a tutorial on how to set up your Android phone for DOS games, and play with a Bluetooth controller soon), I suddenly had an itch to collect classic shooters, especially from Id Software; I got the Classic Doom I and II, Doom III, Wolfenstein 3d and Spear of Destiny, Return to Castle Wolfentein, Wolfenstein New Order, and Wolfenstein The Old Blood, it comes to no surprise that I became quite hyped about the new Doom. Hopefully they will include heavy metal music like the old days.
If you follow me in my other social sites, you would know that I am also a diehard Deus Ex fan; I loved the original Deus Ex and Human Revolution was nearly as good as the original. Apart from some balancing issues, AKA, if you played the game all stealth, Human Revolution’s boss battles will be hard to tackle. But all in all, a neat addition to the series. And so when they announced Deus Ex Mankind Divided, I was glad, but honestly, looking at the gameplay trailer, I wasn’t too excited. As a fan, I would love to get a hold of it especially if it isn’t anything like Invisible War or The Fall, but I might not get this as soon as it releases.
XCOM with the Long War mod will keep any turn based player on his toes for a long time, as it did me. But sometimes, you want something more, thus my prayers were answered and XCOM 2 was also announced. And if the price is right, I am surely getting this game as it releases.
I was never really a Hitman fan, but I do own some of the games in the series and I love the concept and gameplay, then when they announced World of Assassination, it looked so ambitious that I am interested in the outcome of the game, If it lives up to its self established hype, then this is surely in my wishlist. But right off the bat, my complaint already with this game, the trailer reminds me so much of Watchdogs… let us hope THAT is the only similarity to that game.
The reboot for Tomb Raider gives a good reason to be all hyped up again for new games in the series. My sentimental favorite is still Tomb Raider 2, but get that gameplay in modern times would be suicidal for developers trying to make money… it will be a great homage, but homage will only work for diehard fans (as is the case for Pillars of Eternity, most people say the isometric view and “dated” graphics, are well, dated, but us diehard Infinity Engine fans think it gorgeous). I will admit, I hate quick time event games, and the reboot had its fair share of QTE segments, but not so much to water down the experience. And what an experience it was! With that said, I am also looking forward to the next installment in the reboot of the series.

To have this post have a perfect circle, let’s go back to Baldur’s Gate. Now Beamdog released the “Enhanced Editions” of both Baldur’s gate 1 and 2, but they are hardly enhanced and the extra content they wrote were awful… a slap to the face of the original script. Having owned the physical discs of both games, I can mod the crap out of it to make it run great on modern PCs… for FREE. Yes, Enhanced Edition is technically the game with free mods that you have to pay for. Yes you get new companions, but the modding community has similar, if not, better companion mods out there! If I am so mad about this, why am I writing it? Well, because maybe… just maybe, I have to buy the Enhanced Editions later on because they announced a new expansion to the series after 17 years of existence. Baldur’s Gate: Siege of Dragonspear requires Baldur’s Gate Enhanced Edition, and I cautiously optimistic with Beamdog’s script writers and all… And if it is good, then okay, I will buy the Enhanced Editions…

There are also countless other IP that may pique the interest of other gamers such as Mass Effect, Dark Souls, Assassin’s Creed, Metal Gear Solid, etc, but frankly, I am not too excited or even planning to get any games in any of those series. Call me a hater, but they kind of lost their glory for me after a while. Yes, that includes Final Fantasy but hey, I’m a PC gamer nowadays, so I really won’t play them.
So that is my list of the games I found worth waiting for. I repeat, MY LIST. This shouldn’t spark a debate because this is my opinion on games I look forward to, and your’s (feel free to share) may be very different.
Thus… that’s it. PEACE!
Leave a Reply

