The Road to Recovery: The Rehab Sessions 1-3

I am a bit late in posting some of my progress post surgery in terms of rehabilitation sessions.
So this post, though short, will be covering my first 3 sessions of rehab. So here goes!
October 17, 2014 marks my first session of rehab post surgery. That is to say, that I had 1 session prior to my surgery so I kinda had an idea of what will happen and was actually quite excited, because it felt great doing those exercises. have ultrasound on my thigh (not the ultrasound you’d use for imaging of course), TENS, etc… IT was literally therapeutic for both my recuperating muscles of my right knee, and whole leg in general, as well as my soul. It was great!
So I was excited to have my rehab session.

Rehab Sessions
First Day! Take a look at my smoothe shaved right leg…
Rehab Sessions
Session Two! The upper photo is when they were applying TENS or Transcutaneous Electrical Nerver Stimulation and wrapped my knee with a hot towel; Lower photo is FUP or Faradism Under Pressure; I’ll discuss both later in the post.
Rehab Sessions
Session Three! More or less the same routine… But I got some visitors!
On the last photo, I mentioned that I had visitors… Well, I always had visitors in ALL those three sessions. Ranging from my resident bosses, consultant bosses, co-interns, clerks, nursing staff, etc… I was humbled. To see how many of my colleagues and friends really cared. That’s another reason why I enjoy these sessions… there is always a visitor!
And the plus factor, is my physical therapists there are all my friends since I was there during my medical clerkship last year. And my personal PT is my great buddy, JD. So it is never a dull moment.
Now what is TENS?

It is one of the more commonly used forms of neuroanalgesia, hence is used for pain management. How it does this is sending electrical stimulation to the nerves of the affected area where it can cause presynaptic inhibition in the dorsal horn of the spinal cord, release endogenous pain control like endorphin, causes a direct inhibition of an abnormally excited nerve, or restore an afferent input. All of which for pain control. Though I won’t go into detail as to how they lower down the pain.

So what about FUP?
Well simply put, it is an electrical stimulation, much like TENS, but causes muscle contractions. Muscle contraction of the lower extremities is one of several mechanisms that can counteract venous pooling of the blood (other mechanisms include the baroreceptors in the carotid body that will sense the decrease in arterial pressure, due to the pooling, stimulating higher centers such as the autonomic nervous system to aid in venous return); venous pooling, if not mediated by our body’s compensatory mechanisms or by contractions, such as the case of a post surgery patient with limited motion on affected area, will cause edema or swelling.
Since FUP causes contractions, it will aid in the recession or reabsorption of the excess fluid by venous pooling.
Those were a mouthful…

So my next session is this Monday, October 27, 2014, and I am looking forward to it!

Til next time!

PEACE!

Leave a Reply

