Blog on the Go: My Essentials

As time went on, my essentials in travelling grew in size. Apart from the obvious, like the many endless boxer shorts, and other apperel, and toiletries, I now include my techy gadgets.

Let’s start with the ever useful laptop: I own a cheapo Acer Aspire One D270 notebook, that does its job for me in terms of blogging, making presentations, checking my social sites, etc. I don’t play games when I’m in vacation, come on, that’s the only time my skin is ever exposed to sunlight and I can always play in my beast of a system at home. Plus it is disturbing when someone looks over my shoulder while I play games anyway; rather play in my man cave anyday. Also,  i don’t plan to edit photos/videos while I’m in vacation; well, maybe if it’s a months vacation, okay,  I will bring my other laptop, which isn’t a beast, but can do the job of editing media fairly well. Thus in saying all that, I did not feel the need to buy a high end laptop as this notebook feels whatever need I have on the road.

Next, I bring my Apple iPad Mini along for the trip. I like having it around since I feel better reading ebooks on a table than on a laptop; if the case may be that I need to make a presentation from the ebook I just read and highlighted on my iPad Mini, I can just open the similar file on my notebook, find where I previously highlighted, and Ctrl+C and Ctrl+V is imminent. I also like my iPad because I can take quick pics and immediately blog about it… Like what I’m doing right now. Plus, if I want to check my emails or social sites, this seems to be a faster and more convenient method over the notebook. 

The very next essential, is truly essential. That is my Huawei Pocket WiFi where ny ISP is from Sun Telecommunications. How can I possibly check my mail or social sites otherwise!?

Recently, which is like 5 years ago, I bought my DSLR, a Nikon D5000, and is the inspiration to make another blog account to talk about how I shoot certain shots, what I think about shooting, and how I post process my photos. It is a mid range DSLR, but I wasn’t sure how far I’d take my photography back then. I also bought a Sigma 30mm f/1.4 prime lens to expand on my skills. I certainly have gone a long way since the day I first started, and I continue to improve my technique. I bring it along with me for photowalks, or special events, such is the case as tomorrow is my sister’s medical mission. I love to look for what I call “The Money Shot”; the photo that defines the whole trip. The best damn photo I could ever take at that time of my vacation, photowalk, or event. Thus, I’m still on the look out for that shot.

Lastly, of course, I’ll bring my cellphone. It’s just a Nokia A202, dual sim, so I have 2 providers, perfect in calling residents who have 2 of the more common providers here in the Philippines. I have an iPhone 3G and an iPhone 4, but they are usually at home, and since I am used to my Nokia more and the fact accidents do happen, if I drop my Nokia in the hospital, it will still be alive the next day.

So those are my new essentials when travelling.

Still not sleeping just yet as we prepare for tomorrow. Plus we are kind of excited about the whole event, everyone is running on adrenaline and endorphins.

That’s it for now…

PEACE!
Leave a Reply

