I Put You Under Rainy Day

The Cure – 2 Late

so i’ll wait for you
where i always wait
behind the signs that sell the news
i’ll watch for you like yesterday
and hope for you
one day that once
spent out on me
and up ’til late
i search for you
your hat pushed straight
away from me
your measured step
heads up you win
always too late


oh if i could just once catch your eye
invisible against the words
that hold you down in solitude
and never let you go
the way that every time
my eyes just close
like lids of wooden men in file
i put you under rainy day
your hat’s all off
and i’m gone away…


so i’ll wait for you
where i always wait
behind the signs that sell the news
and i’ll watch for you like yesterday
and hope for you
one day that once
spent out on me
and up ’til late
i search for you
your hat pushed straight
away from me
your measured step
heads up you win
always too late

It comes to no surprise that I am Cure fan; I have countless times regarded them as my main influence in learning how to play the guitar, and subsequently, other instruments, just like them. Here is another reason why Robert Smith and company are deemed my all time favorite artists of all time (Yes, hate me if you will, but The Beatles for me rank 2nd in my all time list. Different strokes for different folks).
I will reiterate, I am a Cure fan… not the biggest, because physically I am not tall, and technically, by the true definition of “biggest fan”, I don’t have all their merchandise, but I boast a lot of their CD’s that I am proud about. I tweeted recently that I started collecting their older albums once again and just a few days ago, I got me their Join the Dots: B-Sides and Rarities album. I wanted to hear their B-Sides to such songs I have already been accustomed to and listen to those unreleased songs that I have never literally heard of. I have yet to fully explore the album, but I immediately fell in love with a song entitled “2 Late”.
I first heard of this song in their deluxe edition of their Disintegration (It was the B-Side to Lovesong) album, but it was only an instrumental band demo; it has a catchy tune, albeit without lyrics, but when I finally heard it in all it’s glory in their Join the Dots album, and I was hooked.
In essence, it may not be as lyrically prolific and Davinci Code-esque as Robert’s other songs, but this song still has it’s own need to decode some of it’s meaning, even if it’s nearly obvious as to what the song really means.
Something about tragic love songs that ends in a horrific manner, or such the case, never even began (yes, I speak of unrequited love that I am far too familiar with now), that really takes a hold of me.
It starts out so stalker-like with “I’ll wait for you where I always wait. Behind the signs that sell the news”, but it goes on to tell a story of a girl this guy doesn’t really know, more of a stranger falling in love at first sight. But like most of us men, we cower at the thought of talking to the girl we like. He would always see her in that same spot over and over, hoping to just get her brief attention  but she would always “push her hat straight away from me (him)”, but the song goes on to show that he waited far too long and “put you (her) under rainy day” to signify he gave up, only to have her “hat’s all off and I’m (him) gone away…”, no longer waiting at the usual spot.
It is such a simple, tragic, little unrequited love story, backed up by a catchy tune with a subtle bass, floating keyboards, echoing drums, and surreal guitar riffs that just takes me away, reminding me of the many girls I liked in the past then went unrequited.
It’s painfully beautiful.
I urge you to listen to the tune (video provided above), and try and get a copy of their Join the Dots album to listen to treasures that we aren’t to familiar with since they are mostly B-sides to the songs that we have already known.
Enjoy!
And this may be far off topic, but being a hobbyist photographer, keep shooting! Never look back!
PEACE!
Leave a Reply

