22 Years and 51 Weeks Old

Look at that, next week, I’m going to be another year older. All grown up… except the whole grown up, physically.
Got some plans, I guess, for my birthday coming up, like treating my buddies from premed and that of my medicine classmates, and really enjoying that “feast” because of the exams we have to go through next week. I also beg to God, and the beer gods, not to let my friends force me drink alcoholic beverages, since I have never done it before and I don’t see myself doing so. I may seem a tad “uncool” for not drinking, but so long as my liver stays healthy and having cirrhosis beyond arm’s length, I am happy even if I am an “uncool” guy that will live longer than the cool guys that drink alcoholic beverages religiously.
I don’t normally receive gifts from my family or friends during birthdays; I don’t mind that since I stopped receiving “proper” Christmas and birthday gifts since I turned 11 (I say “proper” because I do receive gifts in a way but not under the criteria to be properly called a Christmas or birthday gift.). Most Christmas gifts or birthday gifts are from myself or indirectly from my family by way of cold hard cash to be spent on something I really like. This year, a week early from my birthday, a good friend of mine got me a gift… first time that a friend gave me a gift, and apart from that, she decided not to give me the money, but instead, got me exactly what I wanted!
I received Nik Software’s Complete Collection!! 
She got this by way of Electronic Software Delivery (ESD) and I am just too happy to have these. Knowing that I use Adobe Lightroom 3 85-90% or my edits and supplementing the remaining percentage with Adobe Photoshop CS5, this Nik Software, in my case, will be used as plugins for both Lightroom 3 and Photoshop CS5 to further beef them up.
I am using UFRaw and GIMP 2.0 for the little, and annoying stuff such as White Balance correction that Lightroom and Photoshop can’t do; they do have White Balance, of course, but the Temperature especially for Infrared RAW files don’t seem to be right in Lightroom and Photoshop.
But now having “booster shots” for both my beloved Adobe products, I don’t see the need to force myself to switch from GIMP, to PS, to LR. Since we know that Lightroom and Photoshop complement eachother, its easy to have a workflow just by switching between those 2 programs.
Wow, I said so much.
To wrap things up, I thank my lucky stars to have a friend like her (who shall remain unnamed for privacy purposes), and as my first gift from a friend since I turned 11 and under the criteria to be called a birthday gift, I am overwhelmed with happiness that it’s a gift such as Nik Software’s Complete Collection.
PEACE!
P.S.
For more info on Nik Software, follow this link:

http://www.niksoftware.com/index/en/entry.php?

Leave a Reply

