But falling over you, is the news of the day

“But falling over you, is the news of the day”
Just a line from “The Ghost in You” from the Psychedelic Furs
Running through my old Cassette tapes (kids, google this, and you’ll know what they are) and ran into some mixed New Wave tapes. Being mostly an alternative fan, its no surprise that I do enjoy an array of 80s New Wave (Pop Wave), as alternative music has its roots from New Wave. Think of it during the 80s, its considered alternative in all its rights, but fast forward to present, its not called “New Wave”… another analogy would be 70s Classic Rock… It wasn’t called “Classic” until years later.
In fact, even granted the blessing to have been able to have my childhood in the 90s, I was treated to music from bands like, Nirvana, Gin Blossoms, Smashing Pumpkins, and many, many more that I can’t recall as of now, I wasn’t really into rock music, let alone, had the urge to learn an instrument. It wasn’t until I sat down with both my sisters to watch a rerun of MTV Unplugged featuring, what would eventually my all time favorite band and my main inspiration to learn the guitar and several other instruments, The Cure.
First time I heard one of their defining songs, “Friday, I’m in Love”, all the nursery rhymes that I have meticulously memorized (even to the point that I noticed the Twinkle Twinkle song has the same melody as that Barney song) have drastically wiped out of the convolutions of my brain. And my being a fan of The Cure, and eventually the whole New Wave (Alternative genre), began in that mere 4mins.
Today, in retrospect, I have no regrets in being biased to this genre of music and turn a whim on the rest. They were, and still are, better songs that were written for the sake of giving back something to music and not entirely for the sake of releasing something to please your record company and stay in the context of your contract.
Music from the 60s-90s folk/classic/alternative rock are what I usually listen to (well, the only “recent” music I listen to some from Japanese bands… IDK why…), and during those times, such simple times, you can really feel the creativity placed in each song to overcome any technical limitations at the time of their recording.
What about music today? Other than the few western bands and Japanese bands, I hardly listen to any recent songs. I find them less appealing and meaningful, but that’s just me. Who knows, the songs of today might be treasured in the next generation similar to how the past generations’ music made me treasure them. But for now, the music of today is not for me to treasure, we’ll leave it to the next time a 7 year old boy sits next to his siblings watching a rerun of an acoustic set of his eventual favorite band/artist.

And to end things, I won’t add in a song from The Cure or even that of my inspiration for my title, although it is slightly along the lines of Psychedelic Furs’ The Ghost in You, but only by title… Here’s my other favorite 80s band, Siouxsie and the Banshees, with their own “The Ghost in You” song.

PEACE!
Leave a Reply

